Shop the Official Online Store
Russell named CBI Preseason All-American
Courtesy: Jackson State Athletics Media  
Release: 02/18/2013
View larger
Courtesy:Jackson State Athletics Media

related links

JACKSON, MS - Jackson State's junior utility player Desmond Russell has been named to the Louisville Slugger Preseason All-American Team. Russell received an honorable mention.

He concluded the 2012 season with a 10-2 record as pitcher. He also finished with a.277 batting average, 2.34 ERA, 86 Strikeouts, 28 bases on balls, 28 earned runs, 26 runs, 48 hits, 11 doubles, and 26 RBIs.

Russell picked up his first win of the season and recorded a career-high 15 strikeouts in the final game of the JSU Tournament, which was held on the Jackson State campus at Braddy Field.

This is the first year that is partnering with Louisville Slugger. Below is the entire All-American team.

First Team

C Mitchell Garver, New Mexico

1B Nick Backlund, Mercer

2B Jordan Hankins, Austin Peay

SS Trea Turner, NC State

3B D.J. Peterson, New Mexico

OF Boomer Collins, Dallas Baptist

OF Michael Conforto, Oregon State

OF Raph Rhymes, LSU

DH Kris Bryant, San Diego

UTIL Marco Gonzales, Gonzaga

UTIL Michael Lorenzen, Cal State Fullerton

SP Mark Appel, Stanford

SP Nick Petree, Missouri State

SP Adam Plutko, UCLA

SP Sean Manaea, Indiana State

SP Dillon Overton, Oklahoma

SP Carlos Rodon, NC State

SP Ryne Stanek, Arkansas

SP Andrew Thurman, UC Irvine

RP David Berg, UCLA

RP Aaron Burke, Coastal Carolina

RP Corey Knebel, Texas

RP Jimmy Sherfy, Oregon

Second Team

C Alex Swim, Elon

1B Brian Ragira, Stanford

2B Michael Felton, Campbell

SS Adam Frazier, Mississippi State

3B Colin Moran, North Carolina

OF Phillip Ervin, Samford

OF Brandon Thomas, Georgia Tech

OF Austin Wilson, Stanford

UTIL Drew Reynolds, East Carolina

SP Kent Emanuel, North Carolina

SP Preston Morrison, TCU

SP Chris Rowley, Army

SP Bobby Wahl, Ole Miss

SP Michael Wagner, San Diego

SP Trevor Williams, Arizona State

RP Jonathan Holder, Mississippi State

RP AJ Salcines, Miami (Fla.)

RP Kellen Urbon, Cornell

Honorable Mention

C Andrew Knapp, California

C Riley Moore, Arizona

C Spencer Navin, Vanderbilt

C Ty Ross, LSU

C Austin Wynns, Fresno State

C Mark Zagunis, Virginia Tech

1B Johnny Coy, Wichita State

1B Ryan Haas, Delaware State

1B Jared Hammer, Hofstra

1B Mason Katz, LSU

1B Ryan McCauley, Niagara

1B George Roberts, Kent State

1B Zach Stephens, Tennessee Tech

2B Andrew Ayers, Sacramento State

2B Dominic Ficociello, Arkansas

2B JaCoby Jones, LSU

2B Tony Kemp, Vanderbilt

2B LJ Mazzilli, Connecticut

2B Christian Stringer, Rice

2B Erich Weiss, Texas

2B Steve Wilkerson, Clemson

SS Will Callaway, Appalachian State

SS Hunter Dozier, Stephen F. Austin

SS Parker Hipp, New Mexico State

SS Richy Pedroza, Cal State Fullerton

SS Brandon Trinkwon, UC Santa Barbara

3B Alex Blandino, Stanford

3B Joey Cujas, VCU

3B Eric Jagielo, Notre Dame

3B Jose Trevino, Oral Roberts

OF Austin Cousino, Kentucky

OF Tim Colwell, North Dakota State

OF Bill Cullen, VCU

OF Ryan Dietrich, Penn

OF Rob Engel, Louisville

OF Johnny Field, Arizona

OF Derek Fisher, Virginia

OF Matt Honchel, Miami (Ohio)

OF Aaron Judge, Fresno State

OF Jared King, Kansas State

OF Tyler Molinaro, UNC Wilmington

OF Jason Monda, Washington State

OF Daniel Palka, Georgia Tech

OF Matt Pollock, Buffalo

OF Michael Pritchard, Nebraska

OF Mason Robbins, Southern Miss

OF Jeff Roy, Rhode Island

DH Justin Lacy, Longwood

UT Josh Dezse, Ohio State

UT Zane Evans, Georgia Tech

UT AJ Reed, Kentucky

UT Desmond Russell, Jackson State

SP Drew Bowen, Oral Roberts

SP Jonathon Crawford, Florida

SP Buck Farmer, Georgia Tech

SP Jonathan Gray, Oklahoma

SP Colby Holmes, South Carolina

SP Peter Kelich, Bryant

SP Austin Kubitza, Rice

SP Brandon Leibrandt, Florida State

SP Corey Littrell, Kentucky

SP Andrew Mitchell, TCU

SP Benton Moss, North Carolina

SP Aaron Nola, LSU

SP Matt Pegler, College of Charleston

SP Andrew Pierce, Southern Miss

SP Tyler Skulina, Kent State

SP Andrew Vasquez, UC Santa Barbara

SP Ben Wetzler, Oregon State

SP Konner Wade, Arizona

RP Tyler Burgess, Missouri State

RP Ryan Connolly, Coastal Carolina

RP Kyle Crockett, Virginia

RP Alex Cruz, Georgia Tech

RP Preston Hatcher, Western Carolina

RP Dan Slania, Notre Dame

RP Chad Sobotka, USC Upstate

RP Colby Suggs, Arkansas

RP Tyler Webb, South Carolina

Back to Baseball