Shop the Official Online Store
2016 Athletics Summer Camps
UNLV Game For Fans
Get Jackson State Football Tickets
JSUís Richardson Named SWAC Player of the Year
Courtesy: Jackson State Athletics Media  
Release: 12/04/2012
View larger
Rico Richardson named SWAC Offensive Player of the Year
Courtesy:Jackson State Athletics Media

related links

JACKSON, Mississippi - The Southwestern Athletic Conference released its All-SWAC football teams for the 2012 season Tuesday, kicking off the build-up to Saturday's SWAC Football Championship Game, presented by Toyota. Senior wide receiver Rico Richardson was named the 2012 Offensive Player of the Year.

Richardson, a 2011 second team selection was the only receiver in the SWAC to gain over 1,000 yards receiving this season, The senior from Natchez, Miss. finished the regular season with 56 receptions for 1,081 yards which led the SWAC and is ranked 13th in the NCAA. He also led the conference in TD grabs with 10. He averaged 19.3 yards per catch and 98.3 per game also lead the SWAC.

Along with Rico Richardson, Zion Pyatt, Stephen Capler, Joseph LeBeau and Qua Cox were named to the first team. Pyatt and Capler are members of JSU's offensive line. LeBeau is ranked third in the nation in tackles for loss. Cox is 23rd in the FCS in interceptions.

Jackson State placed seven student-athletes on the teams, including five first-team selections. Western Division champion, Arkansas Pine Bluff led the way with 13 student-athletes selected and Alabama State had six named to the all-conference team.

Richardson is the second straight SWAC Offensive Player of the Year for JSU. Last season Casey Therriault (QB) received the honor. Under Comegy five Tigers have received either Offensive, Defensive or Newcomer of the Year awards. 2008: Marcellus Speaks (LB) was named SWAC Defensive Player of the Year - he finished with 115 tackles, 2010: Casey Therrualt (QB) was named SWAC Newcomer of the Year - he finished with 3456 passing yards and 31 TDs, 2011: Casey Therriault (QB) was named SWAC Offensive Player of the Year - he finished with 3808 passing yards and 27 TDs and Joseph LeBeau (DE) was named SWAC Newcomer of the Year - he finished with 16 sacks (tied a JSU single season record) and 75 tackles.

Below is JSU's complete list of All-SWAC Team Members

All-SWAC 1st-team Offense

WR       Rico Richardson, SR, Jackson State

OL        Zion Pyatt, SR, Jackson State

OL        Stephen Capler, SR, Jackson State

All-SWAC 1st-team Defense

DL        Joseph LeBeau, SR, Jackson State

DB       Qua Cox, JR, Jackson State

All-SWAC 2nd-team Offense

OL        Jonathan Smith, SO, Jackson State

All-SWAC 2nd-team Defense

DL        Johnathan Billups, SR, Jackson State

NOTE: The SWAC Coach of the Year is determined by the winner of the SWAC Championship Game and will be presented following Saturday's game at Birmingham's Legion Field. Kickoff is set for 12:02 p.m. 

Back to Football